Tags

, , ,

Fashion (Photo – Google Credits)


Ladies and gentlemen, the day we have been waiting for is here! Grab your pens and jotters, I am sure we would be having a great time. So now, let me leave the podium for our tutor… Welcome Omolola… Cheers

***

Good day to all our readers and followers.My name is Omolola Eniola, I am the MD/CEO of Lawlah unisex fashion home. And I am happy to inform you all that I will be our instructor on fashion design. All thanks to God Almighty for giving me the privilege to help people with my little knowledge and I also say thank you to my sister Nissi for this opportunity giving to me. With God on my side I promise to try my possible best in this teaching. Pls, let’s appreciate Nissi for this opportunity, your thank you goes a long way.
Here are my official number, 08181523530, should in case u need any assistance you can call or WhatsApp me. God bless.

INTRODUCTION TO FASHION DESIGNING
Some of us might actually want us to skip this part and get on with the practicals, but the foundation of everything is key and very vital, so, let’s take it one step at a time, shall we? Okay…

We shall first with the term Fashion, design, tailor, tailoring and then, fashion design as a whole.
What is fashion?

Fashion can simply be called a manner of something specified. In other words, fashion is a distinctive and often constant trend in the style in which a person dresses. It can also be called the prevailing styles in behaviour and newest creation of design.
What is design?

Design is a plan or drawing produced to show the look and function or working of a building or garment before it is made. Design involves problem solving and creativity.
What is fashion design?

Fashion design is an art of application of design or natural beautification of clothing which is influenced by one social/cultural attitudes.
What is tailoring?

Tailoring is an art of cutting, fitting and finishing clothes.
Who is a tailor?

A tailor is a person who makes clothes for individuals to fit.
Who is a fashion designer?

A fashion designer is someone who loves to study fashion trends sketch design, select materials and have a part in all the production aspects of their designs.
Our goal here is not just to be a tailor but to be a fashion designer, so, having defined all the terms, there are several things you need to possess to be a successful fashion designer…


Steps to take to be a successful fashion designer

1.Be highly creative and artistic

2.Have a strong drawing skills

3.Have a good eye for details

4.Have an understanding of texture, color and quality of fabric.

5.Have a strong visualization skills

6.Have an excellent communication and interpersonal skills.

7.Have a good sense for business

8.Have a competitive spirit

9.Have the ability to work well with a team

10.Have a knowledge and interest in current fashion trends and lastly

11.Always ask and seek guidance from God.

12.Also you should try to be familiar with the tools of the trade.
Things to do to become a fashion designer.

Are you thinking of becoming a fashion designer?

Take this quiz to find out if this is a good choice for you. I did answer it and it is still helping me since I started working and I believe it will also help you.
Question

When faced with a problem how do u solve it?

a.I go with my first instinct

b.I consider alternative solutions and weigh the positive versus the negative of each one.

c.I get help from someone who has dealt with a similar problem.
I believe I have been able to explain a little on fashion design and tailoring. So I think it is left to you to determine whether you wish to be fashion designer or a tailor. But,I am happy to let you know that I am a fashion designer.
Should in case you have any question, observation or complaint, comment on the comments box or send to my number. God bless.
Our next topic shall be on identification of sewing tools/equipment and their uses. Till we meet next week, stay happy and try to carry out research on your own. Love you all.

