**Hey guys, please note that the second part of ‘Endless Tears’ titled ‘Rebound’ commences 9th February, 2016. Thanks for your patience. Much love **

Leticia walked up to the side of the bed where
she had placed her small travelling bag. She
appeared visibly shaken, she felt used, she felt
tricked, she had left Frank for Gabriel and now
that decision was about to haunt her. She sat on
the bed to recount the issues that had just
happened. “No, Gabriel can’t do this to me”,
Leticia said. “Who does he expect to take me
in”?, she asked herself. She went back to the hall
with tears in her eyes and sat beside Gabriel. He
immediately shifted and looked at her almost
fuming, “What are you still doing here?”, Gabriel
asked. “I am not leaving this house tonight or
tomorrow”, Leticia said. “I love you Gabriel, please
don’t abandon me in my condition”. “I left Frank
for you because I saw a prospective future with
you, now you are abandoning me just because of
a pregnancy”, Leticia said. “Don’t give me that
crap”. “You left Frank with your eyes open so
don’t pin that on me”. “Your eyes were widely
open when you slept with him for him to get you
pregnant”. “Don’t tell me that he drugged you”.
“You have no excuse whatsoever, Leticia”. If I
were you, I would find my way back to Frank and
apologize to him and hope that he would take
you back if he loves you and wants to father your
unborn baby”, Gabriel added. “It is too late for
that to happen, Gabriel, Frank is getting married
to the nurse and I don’t think he would change
his mind because he was quite clear when we
spoke”, Leticia said. “Leticia, that is your funeral”,
Gabriel started. “I seriously want you out of this
place”. “I am being a gentleman about the whole
thing, I am not changing my mind so don’t bother
trying to plead”, Gabriel added. True to his words,
Gabriel’s position didn’t change despite the pleas
from Leticia. Gabriel still held on to the
uncertainty of what the future could bring if he
accepted responsibility for the unborn child. He
repeated his words to sound clearer to Leticia. .
“Leticia, your chapter in my life has reached its
end and it would be only logical for you to find
the exit because I would not take upon myself the
burden of taking care of another man’s child
knowing full well of the repercussions it might
have in the future”. Leticia gathered some
courage and packed her stuff out of Gabriel’s
house. When she got home, her father noticed a
change in her countenance and upon enquiry; he
received the shock of his life. His unassuming
daughter had taken seed out of wedlock. That
was not even a point of major concern, his major
worry was the story linked to the pregnancy and
the controversy that lay in its wake. Augustus
decided to speak to Frank’s parents to decide on
how the situation was going to be managed. “My
son has made his choice and we are in support of
it”, Frank’s mother spoke as Augustus visited
Frank’s house. “We are willing to cater for the
child and we would make sure that Frank fulfils
all his responsibilities in the child’s upbringing
but marriage between them would not be
possible. Augustus, looking at the way the
meeting was going spoke with a heavy heart, “I
was not expecting the meeting to take the turn it
is taking, I was hoping that we could come to a
reasonable agreement but it seems we are not on
the same page on this matter”. “I beg your
pardon, sir, this is my home and I would not have
anyone come in here to insult us”, Frank’s father
spoke. “I didn’t mean to be rude but please, sir,
let me go back home and consider the proposal
offered, thank you”, Leticia’s father said and left
their house. Leticia and her family accepted the
terms of frank’s parents. Soon, Frank and Rita
got engaged and had scheduled a date for their
wedding. Rita was at work one day when she was
told that she had received a visitor. It was
Leticia. “Rita, I know you don’t like me, but I am
begging you with the mercies of God Almighty,
allow Frank to do the right thing which would be
honourable”, Leticia said as she saw Rita entering
the visitor’s lounge. “And what is the right and
honourable thing, my dear?” “Marrying you as a
second wife or divorcing me and marrying you?”,
Rita asked. “If this is why you came here, please
forget it”. “Frank and I are engaged and your
baby won’t be a distraction at all, we love each
other and I plan to stick with him through these
times no matter what”, Rita added. “My dear,
stop doing this to yourself, Frank doesn’t belong
to you anymore”. “The only thing that the two of
you would only have in common is this unborn
child and I would make sure it stays there, trust
me”, Rita added. Frank held the same view as his
parents and Rita. He had already committed his
future to Rita and there was no way he was
going to undo his actions. Many people criticised
his decision as going against tradition but any
time that issue was raised, Frank’s only response
was, “I don’t really care what you think, I have
made my choice”. “I am not going to change my
mind”. Soon, Leticia gave birth to a healthy baby
girl and she was named Bridget. Frank had also
gotten married to Rita but Rita had not gotten
pregnant yet. Leticia’s daughter was a joy to
behold and the pride of Frank. He was so
intrigued at the thought of being a father. He
captured most of his moments with Bridget on
camera. He normally visited Leticia’s house alone
and mostly on weekends to spend time with his
daughter. Leticia took the opportunity to use the
affection that Frank had for Bridget to get him to
her side again. On one of his visits, Leticia
threatened to kill the baby if Frank did not divorce
Rita and take her as his wife. Frank knew he was
just calling his bluff so he just brushed her aside.
He only took her seriously when she rushed out
with the baby in her hand and headed for their
backyard. Frank got alarmed and quickly rushed
after her. When Frank got there, Leticia had
entered a wooden structure which served as their
washroom. Frank quickly went in and to his
amazement, Leticia held the baby loosely over the
open cesspit and away from Frank. “Even if you
so much as think of taking another step closer, I
am going to drop this baby into this pit and it
would be a lose-lose situation for both of us and
for you especially”, she dared Frank. Frank stood
there already furious but at the same time
helpless because he knew that the Leticia he had
known earlier had changed completely and he
knew that her threats were anything but empty.
He knew also that any wrong move he made was
going to be disastrous. “Tish, that little girl is
your baby; our baby, at least think of the number
of months you had to carry her in your womb,
think of the frustration associated with her birth
and do not take any decision that both of us are
going to regret”, Frank begged as he stretched his
hands toward the little baby girl in a frantic effort
of saving her from being dropped. “Tell me if what
you feel for me is love or just pity? “Tell me if you
would even be standing here right now with me if
not for the reason that we have a daughter
together. I trusted you Frank, the least you could
have done was to reciprocate that trust, instead,
you stabbed me when I least expected and left me
begging for dear life. The only way I can settle
this score is by undoing what the two of us have
done”, Leticia said as she dangerously dangled
the baby over the open cesspit. “So does that
give you the right to play God? Does that give
you the power to decide who lives and who dies?
What we feel for each other is between the two of
us and it is beside the point of you taking it out
on this innocent baby”, Frank argued. All this
while, the little baby was crying uncontrollably but
the two adults cared less about the tears and
screams of the baby or the stench emanating
from the cesspit and kept on arguing with each
other. “I never expected things to turn out this
way but unfortunately, they have Frank, they
have”, Leticia continued as tears rolled down her
cheeks. “Leticia, I wish things would have turned
out differently but they didn’t and even if I wanted
them to, it would be impossible”. “Try to
understand where I am coming from”, Frank said
as he uneasily moved towards Leticia in the
stench-drenched washroom. Leticia took a step
backwards and suddenly slipped towards the tip
of the open cesspit…..

Inspy’s World

