“Oh my God, this can’t be possible”, Rejoice’s
number on Gabriel’s phone?” “How did they know
each other?”Leticia wondered as she hurriedly
walked towards the hospital. “How did Rejoice
know Gabriel?” “I hope and pray that they were
not once or are still intimate because if they were
or are, it will be disastrous”, she added. “Now I
don’t know how I am going to ask Gabriel about
this because he will think I don’t trust him”. “Why
am I even worried about this, Frank will always
be there for me so if I realize that Gabriel is
messing up, I would just go to my Frank”, Leticia
thought to herself as she entered the hospital.
Rose was still laying in bed unconscious. Frank
was watching over her. He was so delighted that
the operation was successful. He personally
hosted the Cuban doctor in his house just to
make his stay comfortable and to provide him
with a quiet place to meet and prepare with the
other doctors before the operation. He sat there
and could only imagine the look on Leticia’s face
when she finally walked into the room to see for
herself how successful the operation was. Soon,
there was a knock on the door and as it slowly
opened, a head appeared. It was Rita. She had
come to see if everything was fine and had also
come to check up on Frank. “Has my favourite
doctor had supper already?”, she asked as she
entered the room. Frank looked up and saw her.
His face brightened as he saw her. “It is always a
delight seeing you, Rita”. “You need to go home
and rest, doc, you can’t overwork yourself”, Rita
said. “Little Rose will be fine”. “There are enough
qualified health workers here who will take very
good care of her”. “I know your girlfriend will be
so proud of you for what you have done”, Rita
added. Frank had told Rita that he was already in
a relationship with Leticia and she knew almost
everything in their relationship because Frank told
her everything. “Frank, please get going, after all,
visiting hours are over”, she added. Frank laughed
and said, “That is very funny, you know I work
here so I can stay here as long as l want, you are
rather the visitor and you should leave first. Rita
went close to Frank, held his hand and started to
yank him out of his seat. Frank pulled her
towards himself and tried to kiss her. Rita pulled
her head back. “There is a little girl in here, Frank,
please behave”, Rita said. “You wouldn’t want
your little sister-in-law see you like this, Rita
added jokingly. Don’t get carried away to think
that she can’t hear us. Frank looked towards
Rose’s direction and sat down again. Rita started
to yank him again from the chair when Leticia
walked into the room. “Frank, what are you
doing?”, Leticia yelled. Rita, out of shock let go of
Frank and he dropped heavily back into his seat.
“Tish, relax, this is Rita, a very good friend of
mine”. Rita extended her hand to exchange
pleasantries with Leticia but Leticia felt
intimidated by Rita’s good looks so although she
extended her hand for a handshake, she felt
uncomfortable the entire time. “Leticia, I have
heard a lot about you from Frank”, Rita started.
“He just cant keep quiet about how wonderful you
are”. “This young man really loves you and would
do anything for you”. Rita had sensed the tension
in the room and wanted to diffuse it by reassuring
Leticia of Frank’s commitment to her. “I have to
take my leave now”, Rita said and left the three
of them in the room. Immediately she stepped
out, Leticia fired off, “I don’t like her at all”.
“Who?”, Frank asked. “Rita of course, I feel
threatened by her and I feel with time, you would
like her more and stop loving me”. “I can’t stand
to see a repeat of what happened between you
and Rejoice”. Frank started to get angry and told
her, “I keep telling you not to tag me with that
Rejoice incident, I am totally innocent”. “It is one
thing being accused of doing something you know
you are guilty of and an entirely different thing
being accused of something you know nothing
about just because you are a victim of
circumstance”. “So is it because of her that you
now have the courage to yell at me?”, Leticia
asked. “If I was yelling, Rose will be up by now.”,
Frank said. “Now that you are here, let’s do this,
Tish, you no longer have time for me”, Frank
lamented. “It is either you are working on some
groundbreaking cases for your boss or assisting
Gabriel to do one thing or another”. “Your sister,
just a few hours ago was between the gates of
life and death and you were nowhere to be
found”, Frank added. “I thought you said your
family was your most priceless asset but in this
case, I beg to differ”. “You let your poor dad and
sister down when they needed you the most,
shame on you Leticia”, Frank said as he walked
towards the bed side to check on Rose. “I am
sorry, Frank”, I was caught up with work”, Leticia
said. “You don’t need to explain anything, I
already know”, Frank said sarcastically. “Frank,
this is so not you”, Leticia said. “You would never
talk to me this way even if I was the one at fault”,
she added. “We should just forget it and be
thankful that Rose is fine and will be free from her
attacks”, Frank said. Upon hearing that, Leticia
hugged Frank and whispered into his ears, “I
don’t know what I would have done without you
in my life, baby, you are a gift from God to me to
replace my mother”. Frank smiled and hugged
Leticia even more tightly. In a week’s time, Rose
was discharged from the hospital and a small
party was organized to welcome her safely back
home. Frank asked permission to invite Rita since
she was in a way involved in the operation. Rose
agreed but on the condition that Frank would
limited his interactions with her. The party was
organized in Leticia’s house. Leticia had also
invited Gabriel but he had not turned up even
though the party had started hours ago. When
Gabriel suddenly showed up, he explained that he
had to pick his sister up from a wedding and that
explained why he was late. He asked Leticia to
come out and meet his sister who was waiting in
his car. As they got out, Leticia straightened her
dress and put on a broad smile on her face to
create a good first impression. The person in the
passenger’s seat rolled down the window and like
clock work, the smile on Leticia’s face quickly
wore off. “Meet my little sister, Rejoice, Gabriel
said…..
randomafricanthoughts.blogspot.com

Inspy’s World

